Nineteen engineers and scientists from industry and academia now have the prestigious SAE International status of “SAE Fellow.”

Each will be honored during the SAE 2012 World Congress Awards Ceremony.

SAE Fellowship status is the highest grade of membership bestowed by SAE International. It recognizes outstanding engineering and scientific accomplishments by an individual that have resulted in meaningful advances in automotive, aerospace and commercial-vehicle technology.

The program, established in 1975, recognizes an average of 20 worldwide recipients for this honor each year.

The 2011-12 recipients, listed in alphabetical order, include:

    --  Dr. Hua Zhao, Professor, Engineering and Design, Brunel University
    --  Ren-Jye Yang, Ph.D., Senior Technical Leader, Ford Motor Company
    --  Dr. Andrew P. Walker, Heavy Duty Diesel Global Technology Director,
        Johnson Matthey plc
    --  Christopher P. Thomas, Vice President, Advanced Engineering, BorgWarner
    --  Robert M. Siewert, Technical Fellow, Retired, GM Research & Development
        Center, General Motors Company
    --  Dr. Branko Sarh, Senior Technical Fellow, The Boeing Company
    --  Dr. Paul Richards, Research Fellow, Innopsec Ltd.
    --  Dr. Douglas J. Nelson, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Virginia
    --  Dr. Charles J. Mueller, Principal Member of the Technical Staff, Sandia
        National Laboratories
    --  Dr. John M. Miller, PE, Distinguished R&D Staff, Oak Ridge National
    --  Dr.-Ing. Peter Hofbauer, Chief Technical Officer, EcoMotors
    --  Klaus Hoehn, Ph.D., Vice President, Advanced Technology & Engineering,
        Deere & Company
    --  Ronald J. Herrin, Technical Fellow, GM Powertrain, General Motors
    --  Dr. Zoran S. Filipi, Research Professor, Mechanical Engineering
        Department, The University of Michigan
    --  Dr. Mohamed E.M. El-Sayed, Professor, Department of Mechanical
        Engineering, Kettering University
    --  Dr. Man-Feng Chang, Group Manager & Technical Fellow, Retired, GM
        Powertrain System Research Lab, General Motors Company
    --  Ing. James A. Buczkowski, Henry Ford Technical Fellow & Director of
        Electrical & Electronics, Ford Motor Company
    --  Dr. Andrew Brown, Jr., Director & Chief Technologist, Innovation and
        Technology Office, Delphi Corporation
    --  Dr. Andre L. Boehman, Professor, Fuel Science, Materials Science &
        Engineering, The Pennsylvania State University

SAE International is a global association of more than 132,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. Its core competencies are life-long learning and voluntary consensus standards development. SAE International’s charitable arm is the SAE Foundation, which supports many programs, including A World in MotionZ and the Collegiate Design Series.